Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I was born in California and grew up in the suburbs of Los Angeles. Both of my parents are immigrants who came to America during the 60’s. My mother was a domestic engineer and my father worked in the garment industry. I was raised in one of the poorest neighborhoods in Los Angeles, yet I somehow managed to complete high school and graduate. I attended banking school and completed that too. I then applied to college, but then decided I was smart enough, so I quit. One of my major mistakes. I should’ve stayed in school and continued my education. But I thought, heck, I’m smart enough to get a job – that’s what life’s all about – get a job, pay your bills, work hard, stay out of trouble, keep your fingers crossed and hope for the best. And I figured I was at least prepared to do that, so I quit college and went to work. And I’m out doing what I thought was the best I could do.

By age 21, I was running a nightclub at the corner of Hollywood and Ivar.  The money was decent and I was meeting famous people. Within a short time I had saved $10,000 and thought, “I have a fortune!” I decided to take a trip to Europe during which time renovations would take place at the club. London was my first stop. I had always been fascinated with the stories of London Bridge and I couldn’t wait to get there! I toured the rest of Europe on a Euro-rail pass and I tell you I thought I had it made. Then disaster struck. The famous Northridge earthquake in California leveled the dance-floor on our club. It destroyed the entire building and my only source of income.

After almost a years time in Europe, I returned home flat-broke. I then decided to get a job at a local supermarket and I tell you, I hated that job! But one day on a nice hot afternoon I noticed a red Ferrari parked outside a small real estate office just opposite to the market. I thought, “it must belong to the owner.” Little did I know that two weeks later while having lunch with a friend I’d discover that that same car belonged to an agent at the firm and not the owner. It immediately changed my perspective on things. At a time when the real estate market had tanked, for someone to be driving that car was very impressive! I soon made a decision to get my real estate license and go work for that same company. And then the miracle happened to me – good fortune came my way!

Who can explain good fortune? I don’t know – remarkable things happen to you at a particular time. Sometimes it’s just unexplainable how those things happen. And maybe that’s it, I don’t know. I’m an amateur on life. I guess like most of us are, trying to figure out how to make it valuable. But I was ready and my good fortune came at age 25 when I met my mentor. He took my under his wing while I was still a rookie. I was struggling to get new business, and on top of that, I was flat-broke and driving the ugliest car on the parking lot. I tell you, there is nothing more depressive than a broke-broker!

But things changed rapidly in my life after I met my mentor. From that point on, I endeavored to be a good student of success.

People often ask me how I became successful during a period of time while many of the people I knew did not. The answer is simple: The things I found to be easy to do, they found to be easy not to do. I found it easy to set the goals that could change my life; They found it easy not to. I found it easy to read the books  that could affect my thinking and ideas; They found it easy not to. I found it easy to attend the classes and seminars, and to get around other successful people. They said it probably really wouldn’t matter. If I had to sum it up, I would say: what I found to easy to do, they found to be easy not to do. Six years later I’m blessed with abundance and they are still blaming the economy, the government, and company policy, yet they neglected to do the basic easy things.

Early on I learned that success is neither magical nor mysterious. Success is the natural consequence of consistently applying basic fundamentals.

Within this section of my blog I plan to share the secrets of my success and the actions I took that launched my career from zero to fortune. The topics we’ll cover in this section may very well be the seeds that turn your life around. So stay-tuned, the seeds of high achievement are about to be planted in the soil of your mind.

